Garden Photographer of the Year

Garden Photographer of the Year

History of IGPOTY

International Garden Photographer of the Year was originally founded by five members of the Professional Garden Photographers Association in 2007: Derek Harris, Andrew Lawson, the late Emma Peios, Jane Nichols and Philip Smith. Its first outdoor exhibition took place at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, in May 2008 and quickly established itself as the world's premier garden and plant photography event. The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew remains a key partner in the project and is annual host of the opening exhibition.

From 2008/9 the project was run by Philip Smith who developed the project as an international competition.

In 2014 until present, Tyrone McGlinchey became the new MD of IGPOTY and has grown the competition and exhibition to new levels and to new audiences worldwide. Partnering with venues and creating a network of indoor and outdoor exhibitions throughout the UK, Europe and the world.

As from 2020, IGPOTY will now be run (by the same owners) using a new name to better reflect the future growth: Mirror Plate Media Ltd.